Marshall Township Board Meeting

December 18, 2017

The meeting was called to order by Supervisor Bosserd at 7:00 p.m.

Present:  Bosserd, Albaugh, Lyng, Quinn, George

Pledge of Allegiance by Richard Kellogg

Motion to approve the agenda by Albaugh, 2nd by Quinn, to approve the agenda with additions of Summer Tax Collection Agreements and attendance at MTA Conference 1/31/18 by J. Albaugh to New Business.  Motion passed.

Charles R. Parker was honored with a plaque for his 49.5 years of service to Marshall Township.

Reports were accepted as presented/printed.

Motion by Quinn, 2nd by Lyng to approve minutes of November 20, 2017 Board meeting, hold for further review the issue of compensation for Township costs re: Joint Planning Commission, table until January 2018 meeting any increase in application fee for the Planning Commission, approve insurance policy renewal plus Cyber Security coverage, approve outstanding bills of $80,351.60, disapproved installation of video equipment for Board meetings, appointed to Joint Planning Commission:  Dan Walsh, replacing Carol Riggs and Phyllis Gresly, reappointed to Planning Commission Paul Kiessling, Phyllis Gresly, and appointed to Board of Review, Richard Kellogg.  Approved Board of Review Poverty Exemption Guidelines for 2018, Summer Tax Collection Agreements, and attendance by J. Albaugh at the MTA Conference on January 31, 2018. 

Roll Call Vote:  Yes – Albaugh, Bosserd, Lyng, Quinn, George              No- none

Motion by Albaugh, 2nd by Lyng, to go into closed session to discuss status of lawsuit before conference.

Motion carried.

Back into Open Session:

Motion by Albaugh, 2nd by Quinn, to authorize our attorneys to enter into a settlement with the insurance companies so long as terms are in the Township’s best interests and if the Township receives at least $31,000 as reimbursement. 

Roll Call Vote:  Yes – George, Lyng, Bosserd, Quinn, Albaugh    No - none

Motion by Albaugh, 2nd by Quinn, to authorize Mike Meyers to represent Marshall Township in our current lawsuit, in Appellate Court. 

Roll Call Vote:  Yes – Bosserd, Quinn, Albaugh, Lyng, George               No – none

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:40 p.m.